Sea lion habitat

The family of the otarinos -more known as sea lions- is distributed in different parts of the world. In this article we inform you about each species and its natural habitat.

Where does the sea lion live?

Among sea lions, sea bears and sea lions, we could say that the ocean is full of these pinniped mammals. Know the habitat of these animals, which live mainly in the southern hemisphere:

1. Sea lion of Australia and South Africa

Its scientific name is Arctocephalus pusillus -foto that opens this article- and, as its name 'popular' indicates, can be found in the Australian coasts - precisely on the Bass Strait islands - and South African coasts, especially in Namibia.

This is a very calm and sociable animal, friendly on the water and companion of divers to a depth of 60 meters. On land they may be somewhat nervous and scary in the presence of humans.

2. South American sea lion

The Otaria flavescens receives many names, such as a fur seal or other sea lion from Patagonia. It inhabits the Pacific and South Atlantic coasts in South America and can be found in Ecuador, Chile, Argentina and Uruguay.

 South American fur seal (Otaria flavescens)

The South American fur seal is dark brown , the males weigh about 300 kilos-twice as many as the females-and are identifiable by having a reddish coat on the neck. They live in colonies formed by a male and his harem of females, accompanied by young specimens.

3. Sea lion of the Galápagos

Also known as the fur wolf - its scientific name is Arctocephalus galapagoensis -, it is an endemic species of the Galapagos Islands, in Ecuador, and does not migrate. They eat fish in deep water and at night, when they approach the surface.

 Sea lion of the Galapagos (Arctocephalus galapagoensis)

The males are 1.5 meters long and weigh about 65 kilos

strong>; On the other hand, the females are smaller and lighter. Also, it is the smallest species of the family. They are organized in breeding colonies, in caves, where the females give birth only one offspring per season.

4. New Zealand fur seal

The Arctophoca fosteri or sea lion from the southeast inhabits the southern coasts of Australia and the South Island of New Zealand. The male colonies can be found in the Cook Strait and, interestingly, the Australian and New Zealand colonies do not mix with each other, even if they are of the same species.

New Zealand fur seal (Arctophoca fosteri)

The males weigh about 150 kilos and measure two meters; the females weigh 50 kilos and measure 1.5 meters. Both sexes have rear wings that turn forward, pointed nose and long white whiskers. The body is grayish brown on the back and lighter on the belly.

5.They feed on krill and occasionally on fish.

6. Two South American fur seal

Its scientific name is Arctophoca australis australis , but it is known as a two-furred sea lion. This is an endemic species from South America, which inhabits southern Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina and Chile.

 South American fur seal (Arctophoca australis australis)

The sexual dimorphirsm is also present in this species, in which the males are larger than the females (two meters and 200 kilos against 1.5 meters and 60 kilos respectively). The diet of this sea lion is composed of crustaceans, cephalopods and fish; it is an opportunistic animal, which feeds on what it finds in the sea.

The sea lion is a Very popular animal in the southern hemisphere, where it can be seen on the coasts when grouped in colonies between rocks or sandy beaches.